5 Minutes for Me

Making time in your life for you and the things you love to do!

Bring on the Holidays November 24, 2014

Filed under: Blog — 5 Minutes for Me @ 5:00 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

happy thanksgiving

OK so it’s like officially the holiday season now right? Thanksgiving is this Thursday and then the crazy holiday shopping begins. I for one never go Black Friday shopping, I don’t like crowds, I’m not a big fan of waiting in line and I never feel like I need anything so bad that I have to get up at 3 A.M.to get it. I know some people have elevated to shopping that day to an art form and I can totally appreciate that, however I myself do not participate. I will check out some Cyber Monday deals but I don’t make myself too crazy about it.

This year I was very happy to see that some of the stores that were previously opening on Thanksgiving night the past few years are closed this year. Everyone deserves to have a holiday and spend time with loved ones. I have a feeling that the real reason they stopped was because it wasn’t profitable, but whatever gives more people off is a good thing.

My life tends to get a bit hectic this time of year, but who’s doesn’t, still I do have so much to be thankful for ,and quite a bit to celebrate. First off I am thankful that I don’t have to make anyone else’s lunch this week, but my own, love half days. That gives me extra time in the morning. Next I am thankful that there will be no traffic on my way to work on Friday, not thrilled about having to work but at least no traffic, again more time in the morning. I am thankful for extra days off, I have some vacation time left around Christmas and New Years, just a few days but it makes for long weekends. Very seriously though, I am thankful for my health and well being, having this makes the rest of life easier and more enjoyable. I am thankful for my wonderful family, immediate and extended, I am truly lucky to have so many wonderful, helpful, and truly caring people in my life. I know that no matter what happens I will always have help to get through. The holidays for me have always been about family, and no matter how crazy it gets, making plans, traveling, cooking and shopping I don’t have much I would change.

So before you let yourself get to crazy, stop for a moment and count your blessings, remind yourself why you are doing all of this, and then take a deep breath and maybe smile.  There is fun to be had amidst the chaos, so seek it out and enjoy yourself. Remember to treat yourself to something special for all of your efforts, you deserve it.

Bring on the Holidays!

 

Leave a Reply

