5 Minutes for Me

Making time in your life for you and the things you love to do!

Back from Vacation July 7, 2014

Filed under: Blog — 5 Minutes for Me @ 5:00 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

disneypic

Wow, well I’m back from vacation, and almost back to normal. We left after the kids last day of school so now instead of back to normal it’s time for another small transition, summer vacation. I wish I had appreciated that more while I was a kid, because now, well a week just doesn’t seem like enough. I can’t complain we had such a good time. We had a day at Disney before Maddie had to compete, and then the next day the team had a early practice so after that we free to hang out by the pool relax and get ready for the competition the next two days.  After that it was right back to vacation mode we hit two more parks, Universal Studios, and Wet and Wild, both were a lot of fun. We really didn’t have much of an agenda once the competition was over so we were able to take things at a leisurely pace. We had pushed ourselves too hard the first day when we went to Disney by getting up and out too early ,so we decided to take our time in the morning get to the parks later and stay later. I have to say I am happy with the way that worked out. I was able to wake up without an alarm, enjoy some peace and quiet while I drank my coffee and then had time to get myself together before   getting the kids up and moving.

Having some quiet time each morning really helped set the tone for a more relaxed day, I would go sit out on the little screened in porch we had in our villa, close my eyes for a moment an let my mind be quiet. I could sip my coffee and listen to the birds and watch the ducks swim in the pond; it was such a nice view. I even enjoyed listening to the rain one morning. So even during a pretty busy vacation there was time each day to sit and be calm.

This was a very different vacation for us because we were away at the same time as the other families from the team so we saw each other at some of the meets; we were able to hang out at the pool. I know the kids enjoyed it and it was nice to hang out and get to know everyone a little bit better. We have a wonderful group of parents and I enjoy the fact that we can have a good time together, because we do see quite a bit of everyone.

So we were away from Tuesday until the following Wednesday, but the best part is that I don’t go back to work until today. That’s right 4 days to get myself back together before work; for once I don’t need a vacation from my vacation.

 

 

Leave a Reply

