5 Minutes for Me

Making time in your life for you and the things you love to do!

Another Busy Weekend February 11, 2013

Filed under: Blog — 5 Minutes for Me @ 5:00 am

There is always somewhere to go

This weekend like most others in my life, was quite full. Work around the house, shopping, gymnastics practice, Martial arts, gymnastics meet, plans with friends, and a few other things I can’t even think of at the moment. It can get a little crazy sometimes but it works for me. In fact I prefer it.

This is how I set things up; this is what works for me and my family. The kids always have something to keep them active, fit, and occupied, always a good thing. We have managed to find a good balance of activities that don’t cause to much conflict, and rarely require me to run in several different directions at once, love that.

Finding the rite combination of activities took time to work out and adjustments need to be made when schedules change or a new activity gets thrown into the mix. It’s a continuous work in progress, and flexibility is the key. If I stop to think about it, or start to run down the list of thing that has to be done, I can get overwhelmed. I find it best to just go with the flow, do one thing at a time, then move on to the next.

I had tried micro-managing in the past and honestly it drove me crazy, thinking about everything I had to do took all the fun and ease out of it. I wished once or twice that I wasn’t so busy and that there was less going on, but one too many free weekends and I’m ready to climb the walls.

Anyway the point is, we design our schedules, we have the power to set things up the way we want them. It never happens over night but we do have control over a lot of what we do. Realizing that can be very empowering and help us to appreciate our lives and how we choose to live them. What a nice feeling.

 

Leave a Reply

